Indigenous Music Awards Unveil Winners

Posted on

Don Amero

The envelopes have been opened and the winners for this year’s Indigenous Music Awards have been revealed. The gala for the IMAs – which recognize the accomplishments of First Nations, Metis, and Inuit recording artists and music industry professionals from around the globe – took place at the Club Regent Event Centre in Winnipeg on May 17. 

JUNO-nominated singer/songwriter Don Amero has won for Best Country Album for his latest release, Evolution.

Vince Fontaine (Rising Sun Productions) and Chris Burke-Gaffney (CBG Artist Development) took home the award for Best Producer/Engineer for their work on Cluster Stars, the album by Calgary-based artist Sandra Sutter. 

CBC Radio: Unreserved was named Best Radio Station Program Promoting Indigenous Music.

The IMAs took place during the Manitoba Ahbee Festival, which ran from May 15 to 19, 2019 in Winnipeg and included a music conference, international pow wow, trade show and marketplace, and more. Performers at the gala included Don Amero and past IMDP participant Celeigh Cardinal, and more.

Best Blues Album: Cary Morin
Best Country Album: Don Amero
Best Electronic Music Album: DK Krayzkree
Best Folk Album: Beatrice Deer
Best Gospel: Yvonne St. Germaine
Best Hand Drum Album: Laura Grizzlypaws
Best Inuit, Indigenous Language, or Francophone Album: Angela Amarualik
Best Instrumental Album: Jamie Medicine Crane
Best Pop Album: Mimi O'Bonsawin
Best Pow Wow - Contemporary Album: Young Spirit
Best Pow Wow - Traditional Album: Wabanaki Confederacy
Best Rap/Hip Hop Album: Buggin Malone
Best Rock Album: Samantha Crain
Best New Artist: Janel Munoa
Best Radio Single: Logan Staats
Best Music Video: Supaman
Best Producer/Engineer: Vince Fontaine and Chris Burke-Gaffney for Sandra Sutter
Best International Indigenous Release: Solju
Best Radio Station Program – Promoting Indigenous Music: CBC Radio: Unreserved

Find out more at



Read more news