Desiree Dorion and Indian City Bring Home Hardware at 2018 Indigenous Music Awards

Posted on

Desiree Dorion accepts the IMA for Best Country Album (Photo: Jennifer Doerksen Photography)
Indian City accepts the IMA for Best Radio Station Program Promotion Indigenous Music (Photo: Jennifer Doerksen Photography)
David McLeod accepts the IMA for Best Pop Album (Photo: Jennifer Doerksen Photography)
Desiree Dorion
Indian City
Manito Ahbee Festival
NCI FM - Manitoba

The envelopes were opened and the hardware was handed out at the 2018 Indigenous Music Awards on May 18. Recognizing the accomplishments of Indigenous recording artists and music industry professionals from around the globe, this year's winners were revealed at a gala event at Winnipeg's Club Regent Event Centre.

Artists and media from Manitoba picked up three IMAs at the celebration. Singer/songwriter Desiree Dorion brought home the award for Best Country Album for her latest release, Tough Street. JUNO-nominated pop rock outfit Indian City won for Best Pop Album for its new album, Here & Now. NCI FM's Indigenous Music Countdown landed the Best Radio Station Program Promotion Indigenous Music award. 

Other nominated artists from Manitoba included Vince Fontaine, Richard Farrow, Tom Dutiaume, Billy Joe Green, Malcolm Campbell, and more. Read more about the nominees from Manitoba

Presented by Manito Ahbee Festival and hosted by Beatrice Deer and CBC Music's Jarrett Martineau, this year's event featured performances by several nominees and acclaimed artists, including hometown Indian City.

Many of this year’s Manitoba-based nominees and winners have participated in Manitoba Music’s Indigenous Music Development Program, as well as professional and market development programs during their careers, accessing assistance to showcase in new markets and in making critical business contacts. Manitoba Music's programs and services are made possible by the generous support of the Province of Manitoba, FACTOR through the financial support of the Government of Canada and Canada's private radio broadcasters, Manitoba Film & Music,The Jim Pattison Broadcast Group, The SOCAN Foundation, and members of the music industry of Manitoba.

For a complete list of 2018 IMA winners, please visit

Read more news