Manitoba Music Announces Board of Directors for 2016-17, Kevin Walters Legacy Award Recipient

Posted on

Kevin Walters Legacy Award recipient Tim Jones with Stephen Carroll

Manitoba Music announced its Board of Directors for 2016-17 and celebrated another busy and exciting year at its Annual General Meeting on June 22 at The Good Will.

Manitoba Music is the hub of Manitoba’s vibrant music community. A member-based, not-for-profit industry association, it represents over 750 members in all facets of the music industry, including artists and bands, agents and managers, venues and promoters, studios and producers, and more in every genre. Through its programs and services, Manitoba Music provides information, education and industry development opportunities to nurture, develop, and promote the growth and sustainability of the Manitoba music industry.

"Thank you to our funders, sponsors, and partners for their continued support, which helps to sustain and grow our association," said Manitoba Music’s president, Paul Jordan. “A big thanks to the members of our music community. Their support, commitment, and innovation inspires us. We are fortunate to have the opportunity to work with all of them."

"Manitoba Music continues to support the local music scene while helping more Manitoba artists and companies look beyond our borders to find success in this constantly evolving, global industry. Our members truly shone in 2015-16 and we couldn’t be more excited about the albums released, tours booked, videos shot, and creative marketing campaigns that we saw unfold," say Manitoba Music's executive director, Sean McManus.

Manitoba Music would like to thank departing directors Thomas Kormylo and Ray Beaudry for their years of hard work, dedication, commitment, and passion for Manitoba Music and its membership. Each has left an lasting mark on our association and their input and counsel will be missed.

Manitoba Music is pleased to welcome Bob Somers and Erick Casselman to the Manitoba Music Board of Directors. Each brings a fresh perspective and invaluable expertise that will be assets to the work of the Board and the association. 

At the AGM, the Board of Directors also announced the sophomore recipient of the Kevin Walters Legacy Award, in honour of Kevin Walters, a long time Manitoba Music board member and music industry legend. The award recognizes a young, emerging professional currently working towards a career in the music industry and is intended to contribute to the individual's professional development. This year, the honour went to Tim Jones. Jones is an award-winning co-founder of Winnipeg-based indie label and artist development firm, Pipe & Hat, which counts Attica Riots, Mise en Scene, Sc Mira, The Noble Thiefs, The Revival, and more as part of its roster. An in-demand speaker and regular contributor to Canadian Musician, Jones was named Manager of the Year at the 2014 Western Canadian Music Awards. 

Manitoba Music 2016-17 Board of Directors
Paul Jordan, The Forks Renewal Corporation - President
Don Amero, Artist
Stephen Carroll, Manitoba Film & Music
Erick Casselman, The Park Theatre
David “Bucky” Driedger, Royal Canoe
Cheryl Grewar, Frantic Films
Morgan Hamill, Winnipeg Folk Festival
Irina Ivanov Bissonnette, Winnipeg Folk Festival
Rachel Margolis, Aikens Law
Bob Somers, Scatliff + Miller + Murray
Vanessa Kuzina, Artist 

View Manitoba Music’s 2015-16 Annual Report

Read more news