AMP CAMP: Manitoba Music and Canada Council Celebrate Eighth Edition of Aboriginal Music Performers Camp

Posted on

AMP Camp participant Nelson Little

Nineteen Aboriginal musicians from across Canada will converge on Falcon Trails Resort for the Aboriginal Music Performers (AMP) Camp, which kicks off January 31. Hosted by Manitoba Music and the Canada Council for the Arts, the week-long residency gives emerging and mid-career Aboriginal recording artists an opportunity to develop their business skills and artistic abilities.

This will be the eight edition of AMP Camp, which runs every two years. Past participants -- including past JUNO nominees Don Amero and Inez Jasper, and CBC’s The 8th Fire composer Cris Derksen -- have gone on to release acclaimed albums, receive multiple music awards and nominations, and make music their full-time job.

AMP Camp will include more than 40 hours of professional and artistic development sessions on topics like social media management, songwriting, performance planning and preparation, tour planning, marketing releases, earning credible media, building a team, funding, and vocal coaching.

This year's faculty includes many established artists and music industry professionals, including JUNO-winning singer/songwriters Leela Gilday and Keri Latimer; touring musician MJ Dandeneau; label manager Jay Devonish (eOne Music Canada); music video producer and artist manager Mauricio Ruiz (Mad Ruk Entertainment); festival booker Kerry Clarke (Calgary Folk Music Festival); creative director Daniel Seligman (POP Montreal); social media expert Vanessa Cito (Coalition Music); marketing consultant Andres Mendoza (Cuto); artist manager Guillaume Decouflet (Arts & Crafts Productions); program managers Stephen Carroll (Manitoba Film & Music), Cathleen Enns (Manitoba Arts Council), Tracey Longbottom (Manitoba Arts Council), and Aisha Wickham (Ontario Media Development Fund); radio executive Dave McLeod (NCI FM); and sound technician Matt Mayor.

The artists invited to AMP Camp 2016 include country singers Jade Turner and Ashley Robertson; award winning rapper Drezus (Jeremy Manitopyes); both members of hip hop duo Mob Bounce (Craig Frank Edes and Travis Hebert); singer/songwriters Ila Barker, Nelson Little, Miranda Currie, Bebe Buckskin (Danielle Ghostkeeper), Chelsey Jodoin, Arthur Renwick, Brendt Diabo, and Jaaji (George Okpik); vocalists Rhonda Head and Jeremy Dutcher; electronic music producer Wolf Saga (Johnny Sherritt); musician and media artist Melody McKiver; and, Sister Says collaborators Gillian and Robert Thomson.

AMP Camp is an initiative of Manitoba Music's Aboriginal Music Program (AMP), which was launched in 2004 to help First Nation, Inuit, and Métis people in Manitoba develop sustainable careers in music by connecting them with opportunities within Manitoba Music and beyond.

Manitoba Music would like to acknowledge the financial support of the Canada Council for the Arts; FACTOR with support from Canada’s private radio broadcasters; the Province of Manitoba, the Manitoba Arts Council, and Manitoba Film & Music.

Read more news