Big changes for the APCMA and CAMA this year

Posted on

The Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards (APCMA) and the Canadian Aboriginal Music Awards (CAMA) are implementing some big changes this year. The Winnipeg-based APCMA will introduce a new voting structure while the CAMA show will be moving to Hamilton, Ontario.

The new voting structure for the APCMA sets aside nine categories for music industry professionals to adjudicate in the first round. These categories include:
Aboriginal Entertainer of the Year
Aboriginal Songwriter of the Year
Best Aboriginal Music Radio Station/Program
Best Album Cover Design
Best International Artist
Best Music Video
Best New Artist
Best Producer/Engineer
Best Television Program/Promotion of Aboriginal Music

Aboriginal music fans will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite artists in each of these categories in the second round, ultimately putting them in control of who wins in each category.

Now in its 11th year, the CAMA will be moving out of downtown Toronto to the Hamilton Place Theatre in Hamilton, Ontario. The move includes a new venue for the Canadian Aboriginal Festival’s competition pow wow, which will be held at the Copps Coliseum.

Manitoba has a number of new releases eligible for both award shows. Darrelyne Bickel, Sierra Noble, Sadie, Wab Kinew, Lost Priority, Kimberly Dawn, Jon-C, Brooklyn, Blaze, Da Skelpa Squad, Yoza, Dominique Reynolds, The Dusty Roads Band, Don Amero, Leanne Goose, Ray St. Germain, Eagle & Hawk, Darren Lavallee, Tom Lawrence and Billy Joe Green have recent releases.

The deadline for the APCMA is June 30.

The deadline for the CAMA is June 30.

For more information about the APCMA, please visit

For more information about the CAMA, please visit

Read more news