Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards Announce Hosts and Performers

Posted on

Manito Ahbee: A Festival For All Nations announced today their Hosts for two nights of awards given out during this year’s celebrations in Winnipeg. Lorne Cardinal and Andrea Menard will Co-Host the televised portion of the Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards (APCMA’s) at MTS Centre. Don Kelly and Elaine Bomberry will Co-Host the APTN First Night Awards at McPhillips Street Station.

The APCMA’s are given out over two nights – Thursday, November 6th at McPhillips Street Station and Friday, November 7th at MTS Centre. These two spectacular evenings will feature performances by some of the best Aboriginal recording artists across North America. The Friday night portion at MTS Centre will be broadcast live on the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN) and Bell Express Vu.

Lisa Meeches, Chair of the Board of Governors for Manito Ahbee Festival Inc. believes the choice of Hosts couldn’t be better: “On each of our two awards nights at this year’s Manito Ahbee Festival, the audiences will certainly be in for a treat. When it comes to Lorne Cardinal, who is a fantastic actor and television director, and Andrea Menard, a gifted singer and songwriter, they each reflect in their own way the incredible quality of Aboriginal talent in Canada. I have no doubt they will do an amazing job co-hosting at MTS Centre. When you look at Don Kelly, a terrific comedian and popular host on APTN, and Elaine Bomberry, who for many years has led the charge in developing and supporting Aboriginal performing arts in Canada, I can’t think of two more dynamic individuals to be together on stage at the APTN First Night Awards.”

Organizers also announced a stellar line-up of performers who will take the stage at the APCMA’s, including:
Ø Crystal Shawanda
Ø Eagle & Hawk
Ø Brulé & AIRO
Ø Donny Parenteau
Ø Wab Kinew and Dominique Reynolds
Ø Ed Peekeekoot
Ø The Johnnys
Ø Shy Anne Kovarka
Ø Slidin’ Clyde Roulette

The final round of voting to select the winners for 2008 ends October 17th at 12:00am CST. Results will once again be tabulated by Meyers Norris Penny, with winners announced November 6th and 7th. Award winners are chosen by music fans and industry stakeholders who register online as members. Membership is free, with an easy sign-up process available on the website. www.aboriginalpeopleschoice.com

Manito Ahbee: A Festival For All Nations takes place from October 31st to November 9th, celebrating and showcasing Aboriginal music, art and culture. The Festival includes six components: the International Competition Powwow; Education Week; Manito Ahbee Music Fest; Indigenous Market Place and Trade show; Métis Celebrations; and features the Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards. Ten days of events take place at the MTS Centre, Winnipeg Convention Centre, and other venues in and around downtown. Now in its third year, Manito Ahbee is presented by Manitoba Lotteries Corporation. It was recently recognized with Travel Manitoba’s Tourism Award in the category of Aboriginal Tourism. Manito Ahbee means ‘where the creator sits’. It references a sacred site in the Whiteshell where many First Nations would gather and share teachings and wisdom. There are a number of petroforms at this site, including one in the shape of the turtle. Since the festival is a continental event, the turtle also represents Turtle Island, which is another name for North America. www.manitoahbee.com

Read more news