AMP Camp 2008 List of Invited Artists

Posted on

WINNIPEG – The Manitoba Audio Recording Industry Association’s (MARIA) Aboriginal Music Program is pleased to announce the list of invited artists for AMP Camp 2008. A total of 45 strong applications were received, making the adjudication process both interesting and difficult.

AMP Camp is made possible by a working partnership between MARIA's Aboriginal Music Program and the Music Section of the Canada Council for the Arts. It will provide each of the participants with the opportunity to develop their understanding of the music industry along with their ability to succeed in it. Each day of the week-long residency will include professional development workshops on business topics and creative development labs to help the artists develop their music.

AMP Camp will be held at the Misty Lake Lodge in Gimli, Manitoba from March 9-14, 2008 and all sessions will be lead by a faculty of established artists and music industry professionals. This year’s faculty includes Kinnie Starr, Heather Bishop, Sal Ferreras, Marty Ballentyne and Doug Cox. A number of other instructors will be added in the upcoming months to provide additional expertise to the group.

The artists who have been invited to AMP Camp 2008 are:

Barry Morin Jr., Saskatchewan
Buddy Cardinal, British Columbia
Cheryl L'Hirondelle, British Columbia
Conrad Simon, New Brunswick
Curt Young, Alberta
Darren Lavallee, Manitoba
Desiree Dorion, Manitoba
Eddy Robinson, Ontario
Evan Reeve, British Columbia
Geronimo Inutiq, Quebec
Jared Big Canoe, Ontario
JC Campbell, Manitoba
John J. Cook, Saskatchewan
Karen Donaldson Shepherd, Alberta
Lindsay Knight, Saskatchewan
Marcel Gagnon, British Columbia
Mary Mahler, Manitoba
Melissa Galvin, Manitoba
Niska Napoleon, British Columbia
Richard McKay, Manitoba
Sarah Decarlo, Ontario
Shakti Hayes, British Columbia
Terri-Anne Strongarm, Saskatchewan
Tracy Bone, Manitoba
William Belcourt, Alberta

2008 will mark the third year for AMP Camp. Past participants have gone on complete albums, receive multiple award nominations, win music awards, and make music their full-time job.

The Aboriginal Music Program would like to acknowledge the financial support of the Canada Council for the Arts, the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation, Manitoba Culture, Heritage & Tourism, Manitoba Film and Sound, the Manitoba Arts Council and a contribution by MARIA through the Manitoba Music and Motion Pictures Development Project.

For more information about MARIA’s Aboriginal Music Program:

For more information about the Canada Council for the Arts:

For further information, please contact:

Alan Greyeyes
Aboriginal Music Program Coordinator
Manitoba Audio Recording Industry Association
1-376 Donald Street, Winnipeg MB, R3B 2J2
P: 204.975.0284
F: 204.942.6083

Read more news