Manitoba Artists Net 34 Noms at Inaugural Aboriginal Music Awards

Posted on

Aboriginal artists from Manitoba demonstrated the strength of the regional scene, nabbing 34 nominations in 15 of the categories of the new Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards (APCMA). The nominees were announced by the Manitoba Aboriginal Music Host Committee Inc. in Winnipeg on September 14 at a press conference hosted by Native Communications Inc. (NCI FM).

The APCMA features an online voting system, which gives Aboriginal music fans the chance to vote for their favorite act in each of the 17 categories. The winners will be announced at a nationally-televised award show on November 3 at the MTS Centre in downtown Winnipeg.

Leading the pack with nominations for Best New Artist, Single of the Year, Best Songwriter, Best Album Cover Design and Best Country CD is recent NCI FM “Single of the Year” winner, Tracy Bone, while Life Is... earned four nominations for multiple award winning rockers, Eagle & Hawk.

The competition in the Best Album Cover Design, Best Rock CD, Best Rap or Hip-Hop CD, Best Country CD and Best Aboriginal Music by Non Aboriginal Artist categories is predominantly Manitoban, with Tracy Bone, Hank Horton, Edward Gamblin, and Highway 373 earning four of the five nominations for their country music releases.

“The APCMA represents a new milestone in the development of the Aboriginal Music Industry in Canada and I am thrilled to see such a diverse and talented group of artists celebrated through these nominations,” said Sam Baardman, Executive Director of the Manitoba Audio Recording Industry Association (MARIA).

The final round of online voting for the APCMA is now underway and will come to an end at 11:59pm on October 13. Please register on the APCMA website and cast your vote today.

For a complete list of 2006 APCMA nominees or to register to vote, please visit

Read more news